With School starting this week at most school districts, the California Highway Patrol has some suggestions for parents and drivers.
REMINDERS FOR PARENTS
• Always make sure they know their home address and phone number (or have it written down).
• Instruct them to never walk alone, to always stay where there is plenty of light, and never talk to strangers.
• If your child rides his or her bike, remind them they must follow the same rules as if they were a pedestrian, and always make sure they wear the proper safety equipment including helmets.
• All drivers should slow down and obey all speed limits in areas where you are likely to find people walking and bicycling, such as near bus stops, schools, parks and playgrounds; avoid distractions; and be prepared to yield to pedestrians in crosswalks (marked or unmarked).
SUGGESTIONS FOR DRIVERS!
At this time of year, it is important for drivers to remember the pertinent laws regarding school buses:
• Speed limits are 25 mph within 1,000 feet of a school when children are present.
• The flashing yellow lights on a school bus warn you to slow down and prepare to stop.
• When the flashing red lights are illuminated, you must stop from EITHER direction on undivided highways, until all children have safely crossed and the red lights are turned off. A violation of this law can result in a $1,000 fine and your driver license may be suspended for up to one year.
“The California Highway Patrol strives to provide the utmost protection to the most precious individuals in your life, your children. We hope these tips will help you to exercise great care and extreme caution when traveling within school zones. Slow down, be aware, and drive safe, “ a CHP spokesperson said