Ballot Recount Today In San Gabriel

L.A. County Registrar Recorder will recount ballots today in the close San Gabriel City Council election which occured March 8 (2/17). The ballots will be recounted at the Registrar-Recorder's headquarters in Norwal.

Denise Menchaca,who won the the third and last spot for the city council, led Mario De La Torre by only eight votes when the county certified the ballots. De La Torre requested and paid more than $3,000 for a recount. The recount is expected to be completed this afternoon.

In the San Gabriel City Election, incumbents Jason Pu and Chin Ho Liao were re-elected. The third spot for the city council race was held by Menchaca, who led by the small number of votes.

In a previous election Menchaca, lost by only 1 vote after a city-paid recount.

Here is the previous announced results of the election.

Jason Pu 1,804 (19.01%)
Chin Ho Liao 1,727 (18.20%)
Denise Menchaca 1,528 (16.10%)
Mario Delatorre 1,520 (16.2%)
Scott Bowles 1,261 (13.29%)
Eric L. Chan 1,088 ((11.43%)
A.J. Faure 566 (5.96%)



2013 SGVJournal. Developed and Designed by Charlene on Green