PREP CROSS COUNTRY: Mission Valley League Finals Results

             San Dimas --  Gabrielino and Rosemead high schools cross country teams on Nov. 2, 2016 competed at Bonelli Park here in Mission Valley League Finals to determine which league teams made the California Interscholastic Federation Southern Section (CIFSS) Championship Prelims in Riverside. Gabrielino and Rosemead varsity boys and girls teams qualified for the CIFSS Championship Prelims.

  Arroyo, which has hundreds more students than other schools in the league, won both boys and girls team championships as expected. In the boys competition, Arroyo was first with 28 points (low score wins), Gabrielino was second with 80 points, and Rosemead was third with 86 points. In the girls race, Arroyo won with 20 points, Rosemead was second with 44 points, South El Monte was third with 84 points, and Gabrielino was fourth with 129 points.

  In boys varsity race, Tommy Ly of Rosemead was second in 15:56 for the three-mile race, Rosemead teammate Alec Nguyen was eighth in 16:28 and Skyler Hudson of Gabrielino was 11th in 17:00.

  In girls varsity race, Rosemead placed its five scoring runners in the top 11. Jessica Perez was sixth in 19:42, Lisa Kao was eighth in 20:01, Melanie Mach was ninth in 20:33, Karen Huang was tenth in 20:10, and Cassandra Chin was eleventh in 20:12. 

  In boys junior varsity race, Arroyo was first with 16 points and Gabrielino was second with 79 points. Brendan Nguyen of Gabrielino was seventh in 18:51, and teammate Steven Luc was tenth in 19:26.

  In the girls junior varsity race, Arroyo won with a perfect score of 15 points (all five of its scoring runners were top five places), and Rosemead was second with 42 points.  Rosemead's five scoring runners were Wanqian Wu in sixth in 21:18, Jillian Ngo in seventh in 21:29, Miranda Lam in eighth in 21:41, Courtney Van in ninth in 21:47, and Lynn Truong in 12th in 26:59.

2013 SGVJournal. Developed and Designed by Charlene on Green